2016 · Research · Scripture · Study Resources

#Review: E-Sword #Bible Study Tools for Mac, PC, iPad and iPhone

eswordWeb site: http://www.e-sword.net
This review has not been requested, or sponsored in any way. The company has no idea I am writing this.

From the web site: “e-Sword is a fast and effective way to study the Bible. e-Sword is feature rich and user friendly with more capabilities than you would expect in a free Bible study app. The fact that e-Sword is free is just one of the blessings and does not speak of the quality of the app. Below you’ll find a list of features that you will discover helps make Bible study both enjoyable and enriching.”

Features Include:
Many Bible versions
Parallel Bible study
Strongs numbers
Hebrew and Greek versions which link straight to Strongs numbers
Bibles in many languages
Maps
Commentaries
Devotionals
Easy Search Facility
Keeps your search history
A number of layouts so you can focus on what you want
Reference library
Dictionaries, including topical
Audio sermons
Word macros http://www.e-sword.net/extras.html
Sermon Illustrations
and more…

I downloaded this awesome tool for my iMac as I am planning to start theological college in 2017 and I don’t want to buy and store masses of heavy textbooks, I need to take want I want with me to the library…plus our internet connection keeps dropping out, so constantly using biblehub.com is no longer a practical option. I am now debating whether or not to get e-Sword for my iPad, which will cost me around $7 AU.

Firstly, I love it. My favourite feature is the search history, which makes my life so much easier when I am alternating between the books of Samuel and the Psalms. I also really like the journal tool, where I can copy and paste in parts of commentaries, or add my own thoughts. It keeps those notes by date and they are easy to get to from the toolbar. All the text in the app will paste into a word processor etc. That is not a locked function. The right click menu gives you access to a lot of features and when you have multiple windows open on the computer, the app doesn’t get in the way.

tips

It did cost me $14 AU to buy from the Apple App store, but for that, I have free access to a lot of content which I downloaded. Sadly, quite a few of the books I tried to download didn’t download, but I am not sure if that is because I am having Internet issues, or what the situation is. I need to contact the company and ask.

The only other negative is the most popular Bibles and study resources have to be bought. They come from e-Sword’s sister site: eStudy Source http://estudysource.com/platform/site/homepage/index.aspx Considering those works are commercial and within their copyright time frame, I think that is only fair. They do have sales and bundles which range in price from $6 to around $30, so it doesn’t bother me and I may invest later.

I have used the app extensively since I bought it and it’s never crashed or given me grief. It is nearly always open in the background. I do recommend that you try it. I have used several Bible study apps before, but this one is the most useful and comprehensive.


kdpcpyrght

Creative Commons License
The King David Project by Cate Russell-Cole is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License (CC BY-SA 4.0).
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at http://cateartios.wixsite.com/kingdavidproject.

Please note that this does NOT apply to any of the images on this site except for the free Psalm images which are marked as free. Most photos are purchased stock photos. It is ILLEGAL for you to take and use them, whether for yourself, commercially or for a non-profit venture such as a church or Bible Study. If you have not bought these photos from the source, the stock photography company has every right to sue you.

